AIH 2013 Annual Awards

Friday October 25, 2013

Brisbane Hosted the National Awards Night For Professional Horticulturists Across Australia

 The Australian Institute of Horticulture (AIH) attracted interstate and international professionals who are at the forefront of their industry in research, cultivation, design and management of plants in urban, rural and environmental situations.

The setting on the banks of the Brisbane River set the scene for a relaxed but celebratory night. The night was a fitting tribute to Wes Fleming – 2013 Golden Wattle Award for his history making ‘Best in Show’ win at the Chelsea Flower Show which topped off the success of the other recipients of AIH Awards.

AIH National President Annette Irish said “Successes such as these will only strengthen career pathways and encourage younger people into the horticulture profession”. Master of Ceremony for the night was the admirable Don Burke OAM, FAIH, RH, Ambassador AIH.

AIH Award of Merit

Phillip Johnson

Award of Merit to Phillip Johnson (Phillip Johnson Landscapes) for his innovative sustainable landscapes and increasing the significance of Australian horticulture internationally by taking out ‘Gold’ and ‘Best in Show’ at the Chelsea Flower Show 2013. Wes Fleming accepted the award on behalf of Phillip Johnson. 

Fellow Citations

Kim Morris FAIH

Peter Thyer FAIH

Fellow citations were presented to Kim Morris FAIH and Peter Thyer FAIH. Fellow is presented to outstanding horticulturists for their service to horticulture and AIH.

Kim Morris (Kim Morris & Associates) career spans Asia and Australia as an educator and design consultant. He has also owned a nursery and has been involved in horticultural media. He is also noted as past National President of AIH. 

Peter Thyer is best known for his work on tree valuation which is currently in use by many state government departments. Peter’s passion has seen him on many panels and committees to develop standards for trees. He has held state council positions in New South Wales. 

SIR John Pagan BBM Youth Support Horticulture Scholarship

Katherine Grace

BBM Sir John Pagan Horticulture Award was presented to Katherine Grace for her passion in encouraging school children and young adults to become motivated and excited about the landscape and environment that they live in. Katherine has a desire to apply sustainable and ‘green’ horticultural knowledge to achieve the best possible outcome for projects. This award provides a horticultural travel scholarship to the value of $8000. 

AIH 2013 Horticultural Student of the Year

Kerri Lennox

2013 Student of the Year was presented to Kerri Lennox from Mackay Regional Council. The Award is based on a student (or recent graduate) who has achieved exemplary outcomes during their time as a student. Kerri is a wonderful advertisement for a young person with a passion for horticulture and is an exceptional ambassador for her peers and visitors to the Mackay Botanic Gardens. 

AIH Life Membership

Harry Crane FAIH

Life Membership citation was presented to Harry Crane FAIH. This honour represents the recognition of a member who has represented AIH and industry through longstanding and exemplary service and is considered by their peers in the Institute to be a worthy recipient of the Life Membership. Harry was a founding member of AIH in Queensland and still engages in garden maintenance to keep his green fingers active. 

AIH 2013 Golden Wattle Award

Wes Fleming

AIH Golden Wattle Award was presented to Wes Fleming. This is the highest award of industry recognition to be given to a horticulturist whose practice has advanced the profession of horticulture in Australia. A passionate advocate for the horticulture industry, over the past 20 years Wes has implemented a number of programs with the aim of uniting the industry and raising horticulture’s profile across the country especially with the recent ‘Best in Show’ at Chelsea.