Awards 2020

AIH Award Nominations 2020

Every year, the Australian Institute of Horticulture celebrates the very best of Aussie horticultural excellence. This year is our big 60th Anniversary and we have big plans to celebrate 60 years of AIH in Sydney this October! 

The Awards will be presented at the 60th AIH National Annual Awards Dinner, Ivy Ballroom, George St Sydney, NSW on Friday 30th October 2020.

Nominate colleagues and champions for AIH Awards for the end of the year. It’s really easy, and so worthwhile. Nomination forms are interactive PDFs that you can download, type directly into, save and attach to an email to our Secretary, Matt Mitchley MAIH RH.

Email your nominations to by 5pm, Friday 17th April 2020.

Nomination Categories

Choose from the following 7 categories:

Australian Horticulturist of the Year 2020

This is the most significant Annual Award given by the AIH to an outstanding horticulturist from the AIH member body in Australia and overseas.

Golden Wattle Award 2020

The Australian Institute of Horticulture GOLDEN WATTLE AWARD is the premier AIH award.

Award of Merit

The Australian Institute of Horticulture AWARD OF MERIT is awarded by the National Council in recognition of an innovative horticultural achievement to those who may not be members of the Institute.

AIH Green Space Awards 2020

The Awards can be applied to any green project, anywhere in Australia that uses horticulture in its design, purpose and use for the improvement or provision of open green space and human health and well-being.

Silver Gum Award

The AIH SILVER GUM is an award that occupies a senior position in the AIH National Awards structure. It is considered one of Australia’s most significant horticultural awards.

Award Of Excellence 2020

The Australian Institute of Horticulture, AWARD OF EXCELLENCE, is awarded by the National Council in recognition of innovative horticultural achievement exclusively for its members.

Australian Horticulture Student of the Year 2020

This award is given to a horticulture student in Australia who has shown exceptional talent in their studies and/or contribution to the community.