59th Australian Institute of Horticulture (AIH) Awards 21 September 2019

MEDIA RELEASE – AIH 59th Awards 21/09/2019


This year’s 59th Australian Institute of Horticulture (AIH) Awards, was held at the Aloft Hotel, Perth September 21st, 2019. The Gala dinner followed our highly successful AIH conference titled ‘Humanity and Horticulture’.

Australia’s favourite lifestyle industry personality, Costa Georgiadis, was MC on the night. His passion and commitment to our industry provided the keen audience with entertaining anecdotes and thoughtful observations. Costa easily kept us engaged during the presentation of all 21 awards during the pleasant dinner.

The 2019 Award Recipients represented all sectors of the industry, practitioners coming from within the AIH membership and our industry colleagues. The recipients were all recognised for making outstanding contributions to the sustainability and green comfort of our urban living.

Adding to his 2019 achievements, Costa Georgiadis joined other horticultural luminaries such as Don Burke, Colin Campbell, Judy Horton, Wes Fleming, Graham Ross, Jane Edmanson, Peter Cundall and Annette McFarlane, when he received The Golden Wattle. The GW is presented for a horticulturist’s contribution to our industry through their horticultural media and environmental pursuits.

Immediate past president, Wayne Van Balen was honoured with The Silver Gum.

Phillip Johnson was named Australian Horticulturist of the Year for his outstanding contribution to many horticultural projects and promotion of environmental landscapes

A Lifetime Achievement gift of a specially commissioned sterling silver gum leaf brooch was presented to a delighted Marion Blackwell AM, FAILA.  Her lifetime works in the field of horticulture and landscaping included gardening, landscape architecture, and remediation projects including major projects for mining companies such as NBHP and Woodside Offshore Petroleum.

Two new Fellows were inducted into the institute this year – Glenice Batchelor W.A and Patrick Regnault NSW. Fellowship is the highest conferred recognition by the AIH member’s peers.

A total of 6 Green Space Awards were presented in 2019, including two Urban and 1 each of Regional, International, Community, Events and Entertainment

The Dawn Andrews Park, Central Springs Estate QLD received the Green Space Regional Award. The implementation team, QM Properties Pty Ltd. accepted the award.

Our students and future horticulturists played a large part of the night with Coralie Stuart the Horticultural Student of the Year and Scott Burgess receiving the inaugural Kim Morris Student Merit Award.

This year AIH also had two new international awards recognising horticultural excellence in our AIH partnering city-state, Singapore. Jeverss Choo Jun Wei, International Award of Merit and GWS Singapore, Green Space International award for new ‘The Jewel’, Green Wall, Changi Airport.

AIH also thank our award night Gold sponsors, Botanica Nurseries Pty Ltd and Fitzpatrick & Co Insurance Brokers for their on-going support.

2020 Our 60th Year – AIH members, awardees and guests will gather again in Sydney in November 2020 for our Diamond Jubilee Gala Dinner and Awards Night. Nominations will be called for all awards in April 2020.


Full list of Award Winners:


The Golden Wattle – Costa Georgiadis MAIH RH

The Silver Gum – Wayne Van Balen, MAIH RH For commitment to and promotion of the Horticultural Industry.

AIH Fellow  – Glenice Batchelor FAIH RH

AIH Fellow – Patrick Regnault FAIH RH

Horticulturist of the Year 2019 – Phillip Johnson MAIH RH

Horticultural Student of the Year 2019 – Coralie Stuart

Lifetime Achievement Award – Marion Blackwell AM

Award of Excellence – Andrew Prowse MAIH RH & Kim Morris (Late) FAIH RH, Lutwyche War Cemetery Refurbishment for the Commonwealth Graves Commission

Kim Morris Student Merit Award 2019  – Scott Burgess

Green Space Urban Award – Shepherds Bay, Meadow Bank NSW. Exotic Nurseries and Landscaping Pty Ltd

Green Space Regional Award – Dawn Andrews Park, Central Springs Estate QLD QM Properties Pty Ltd

Green Space Urban Award – Walters Brook Restoration Project, Natural Area Consulting Management Services, City of Vincent WA

Green Space International Award – Green wall installation, The Jewel Changi Airport GWS Living Art

Green Space Events & Engagement Award – Kings Park Festival, Kings Park & Botanic Garden Authority

Green Space Community Award – The Tree Trails Community Engagement Office, City of Stirling, WA

International Award of Merit – Jeverss Choo Jun Wei, Promotion of Horticulture & Industry Training

Award of Merit  – 5 Senses Garden Project, Roman Deguchi

Award of Merit – Indigenous Roof Top Food Garden, Mirvac Offices, Everleigh Redevelopment project, Sydney, Clarence Slockee & Christian Hampson

Award of Merit – Tree Stock Outreach Project, Professor Mark Tjoelker, HIE, Western Sydney University

Award of Appreciation  – Paul Plant FAIH RH – Chair of Fellows Group

Award of Appreciation – Neville Passmore FAIH RH  – Convenor of the 2019 AIH Conference

Leave a Reply